Tag Archives: City Council President Sharon Ashe-Nadrowski

BAYONNE Ground-breaking ceremony for new 25th Street pedestrian bridge over the railroad gap between Avenue E and Prospect Avenue

Ground-breaking ceremony for new 25th Street pedestrian bridge in Bayonne: City Officials and Grade Construction, the building contractor, held a ground-breaking ceremony for the replacement 25th Street pedestrian bridge.  The existing bridge was constructed in 1970. The new span will have elevators that will make it handicapped accessible. The older bridge will be demolished before the new one is constructed in its place. Project completion is expected in either late 2021 or early 2022.  Like the existing bridge, the new one will connect Avenue E and Prospect Avenue over the tracks for Hudson Bergen Light Rail and freight railroads. Pictured left to right: Fire Chief Keith Weaver, Ralph Diaco (President, Grade Construction), First Ward Council Member Neil Carroll III, Mayor Jimmy Davis, City Council President Sharon Ashe-Nadrowski, Second Ward Council Member Sal Gullace, Public Works Director Tom Cotter, and City Engineer Rob Russo.  Drone photo courtesy of Consulting and Municipal Engineers (CME).

Soon after the Ground- Breaking Ceremony the heavy equipment came in and began to demolish the current 25th Street Bridge see photo on right

Bayonne Holds Ceremony for New Police Officers

Bayonne Food Drive

          The City of Bayonne held a swearing-in ceremony for new police officers who have joined the Police Department in 2019, 2020, and 2021.  Their ceremonies were postponed as a result of the Coronavirus.  The group of new officers includes the department’s first Filipino officer and the first two Black female officers.  This event took place in the Bayonne High School Auditorium, which was large enough to accommodate the new officers, their families, City officials, and other guests. 

          Twenty-eight new officers were sworn in by City Clerk Madelene Medina.  The new recruits have replenished the ranks of the Police Department, which has experienced many retirements during the last two years.

          The new police officers are:  Shady Nasralla, Michael May, Bryan Cruz, Hany Kased, Robert Candelaria, Thomas Jurcisin, Jr., Alexis Ogbin, Jonathan White, Zachary Hyman, Marco Coelho, Kevin Sliwowski, Mark Hermosisima, Brandon Olander, Robert Cavanaugh, Jared Ensmenger, Jack Vreeland, Mina Saleeb, Ali Aboubakr, Perla Estevez, Erik Lyman, Febronia Botros, Joseph Cordato, Kevin Vazquez, Justin Rivera, Thomas McGuckin, Tanya Roberts, Brianna Rhodes, and Daniel Hampton.