Jersey City Celebrates Women’s History Month with the 14th Annual “Women of Action Awards

Mayor Healy and Municipal Council to Recognize Twenty-Seven Outstanding Women

Mayor Jerramiah T. Healy, the Municipal Council, and the Department of Health and Human Services/Division of Cultural Affairs will honor 27 outstanding women during the 14th Annual “Women of Action” Awards Ceremony, in celebration of Women’s History Month. The event will take place at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, March 29, 2012 in the Council Chambers in City Hall, located at 280 Grove Street.

“Generations of women have taken the lead throughout history making significant contributions that have shaped our lives,” said

Mayor Healy. “In paying tribute to them, we are also expressing our gratitude for all they have done for us and recognize their commitment to improving the lives of the people in their community.” Women’s History Month is a great occasion that honors the women who have shaped history and touched so many lives. Sharing their stories of steadfast determination also teaches future generations that anything is within reach as long as they believe in themselves and that there is no obstacle too great for them.

The following twenty-seven Women of Action were chosen for their artistic, economic, innovative, political, or social contributions by each of the nine members of Jersey City’s Municipal Council:

Council President Peter Brennan



Pamela E. Gardner



Cynthia T. Harris



Diana Nunez



Councilwoman-At-Large Viola Richardson



Patricia Greene Alston



Robin Pinkowitz



Lycel Villanueva



Councilman-At-Large Rolando R. Lavarro, Jr.



Vidya Gangadin



Betty Martin



Rossana Villaflor